StableN/ASyncedN/A

Linked Users

Updated Sep 1, 202636 viewsView on usehalo.com

In this Guide we will cover:

  • What are Linked Users?
  • Linking Users

Related Guides

What are Linked Users?

Linked Users are a way of matching two User records together. This can be used to further control which information can be seen on the Portal, such as alowing a Team Leader to view multiple User's Tickets without allowing them access to the entire Site's Tickets. Linked Users can also be used when a User works at different Sites and needs a profile under each location. Linking records allows the User to view each profiles information when signed into the Portal. Linked Users will take into account every Users' Web-Access level. This means if a User has higher level of Web-Access at one Site, but a lower level at the other Site, when logged in they will still only see the permitted level of information for each Site.

Key Distinctions

This guide will refer to both "Users" and "Linked Users". It is important to understand how these differ.

User - The User record itself.  

Linked User - A field on the Preferences tab of a User record which points to a different User record, creating a single directional relationship between them. The User selected here will be the "Linked User". This does not merge the accounts, it just allows the linked record to inherit the additional visibility from the other User. The "Linked User" is the profile that gains extra visibility. 

Linking Users

Linking a User to multiple other Users

When a link is created between two User records, the User who is linked will be the User able to see the entities assigned to the User. The User who has been assigned a Linked User will not be able to see any additional information. This is useful for allowing Users who are higher up in the Company to see multiple User's Ticket without giving them access to the entire Sites Tickets. 

In the below example I have 4 Users at the same Site. Two of these Users report to the "Batley Team Leader". This Team Leader needs to be able to see the other User's Tickets, but should not be able to see management's Tickets.

Fig 1. Users at a specific Site

Against the Users that the Team Leader needs to be able to view, click into the Preferences tab, and set the "Linked User". Click the magnifying glass on the right of the dropdown field to view and search for the User to link. 

Fig 2. Linked Users  

Select and click "Confirm Selection" once you have chosen the User to link.

Fig 4. Linking a User

Once you save the User records, the Linked User will be able to view the User's Portal content as well as their own, without having access to the entire Site's Tickets. 

Fig 5. Viewing a User's Tickets as a Linked User

In order for the Linked User to see each area of the Portal they will require at least basic access to each area. This is determined in the Permissions tab. The Linked User will be able to see the User's Tickets, Assets, Quotes, and Approvals when each permission is granted. It is important both the User and Linked User are granted "This Users Tickets/Assets/Quotations" level of Web-Access in order to see these Areas in the Portal. For the User to be able to view Approvals they will also require "This User can partake in approvals" to be selected. 

Fig 7. User access permissions 

Linking the same User across Sites

When one individual works across two Sites they can have a separate User account at each Site. However, when logging into the Portal the User may want to see information from each of their profiles. To achieve this, the User records will need to be linked.

In the below example the User "Charles Haley" works in both the South Norfolk and North Suffolk Offices, and has an account at both Sites. 

Fig 8. Duplicate Users at different Sites 

It is recommended to choose the User with the highest permission level as the Linked User as the User will require the permissions to view each area in the Portal. 

In the Preferences tab of the User record with the lowest permission level, set the Linked User to the other User profile. Click the magnifying glass on the right of the dropdown field to view and search for the User to link. 

Select and click "Confirm Selection" once you have chosen the User to link (See Figures 2 & 3).

Fig 9. Linked User

Once saved, the Linked User will be able to view both of their User account's content when signed into their account. The Linked User will be able to see the User's Tickets, Assets, Quotes, and Approvals. It is important both the User and Linked User are granted at minimum "This Users Tickets/Assets/Quotations" level of Web Access in order to see these Areas in the Portal. For the User to be able to view Approvals they will also require "This User can partake in approvals" to be set. 

Fig 10. Users at a specific Site

If this User has more than two Sites, each User record can have the Linked User set as the same Linked User. The Linked User will then be able to see the entities assigned to each of the User accounts.

Important! Having one User with multiple records will impact User Quantity Billing.